An independent guide to cash-pay care. Every price is dated and sourced.

How we check

Semaglutide cost in 2026: brand, compounded and clinic prices

Semaglutide costs $99 to $499 a month depending on the channel, per prices checked Oct 17, 2026 [1] [2] [3]. Brand semaglutide from Novo Nordisk runs $149 to $499 self-pay: $349 for Wegovy pens, $149 to $299 for the Wegovy pill and $349 to $499 for Ozempic [1] [2]. Compounded semaglutide from the online programs we track lists at $99 to $297 a month, but it is not FDA-approved [3] [4] [5].

Medical review: pending. A licensed clinician has not yet reviewed this page.

Semaglutide is a GLP-1 drug made by Novo Nordisk and sold as Wegovy (weekly pen or daily pill) for weight management and as Ozempic for type 2 diabetes [6] [7].

Wegovy pen
$349 a month; $199 for two starter fills through Dec 31, 2026 [1]
Wegovy pill
$149 to $299 a month by dose [1]
Ozempic
$349 a month; $499 for 2 mg [2]
Compounded, online
$99 to $297 a month at standard rates [3] [4]; not FDA-approved [5]
With covered insurance
As little as $25 for Wegovy or Ozempic [1]
Checked
Oct 17, 2026

Every way to buy semaglutide, priced

Novo Nordisk's self-pay prices are flat across most doses, which makes brand semaglutide easier to budget than tirzepatide. Compounded prices swing with plan length and promotions. Single-brand pages: Wegovy cost, Wegovy pill, Ozempic cost.

Semaglutide prices by channel, checked Oct 17, 2026
ChannelMonthly priceWhat is includedCheckedSource
Wegovy pen, NovoCare self-pay$349 ($399 for 7.2 mg)Box of 4 pens; $199 for the first two 0.25 or 0.5 mg fills for new patientsOct 17, 2026NovoCare [1]
Wegovy pill, NovoCare self-pay$149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg), $299 (9 and 25 mg)30 tabletsOct 17, 2026NovoCare [1]
Ozempic, NovoCare self-pay$349 (0.25 to 1 mg), $499 (2 mg)Type 2 diabetes drug; $199 intro for two starter fillsOct 17, 2026NovoCare [2]
Wegovy or Ozempic, plan covers it, with savings offerAs little as $25Savings capped at $100 a month; commercial insurance onlyOct 17, 2026NovoCare [1] [2]
Wegovy, Medicare GLP-1 Bridge$50Pen or pill, if eligible; Ozempic excludedOct 17, 2026CMS [8]
Eden, compounded$99Headline price; same price at every dose; inclusions not statedOct 17, 2026Eden [3]
bmiMD, compoundedAs low as $119Plan length not shownOct 17, 2026bmiMD [9]
OrderlyMeds, compounded$149 monthly; $74 first month for new customersSame price at every dose; no membership feeOct 17, 2026OrderlyMeds [10]
Found, compounded plan$169 to $289 per 28 daysDrug and care; $169 needs a 12-month plan; labs extraOct 17, 2026Found [11]
FancyMeds, compounded 0.25 mg a week$249 per 4 weeks (promo from $108.99)One-time purchase; no membershipOct 17, 2026FancyMeds [12]
Direct Meds, compounded$297Drug, evaluation, supplies, shipping, nurse; no contractOct 17, 2026Direct Meds [4]
List prices: Wegovy $1,349 and Ozempic $1,028 a month, both falling to $675 on Jan 1, 2027; Novo says self-pay prices are unaffected [13] [14].

What the low prices leave out

  • Commitment. Found's lowest compounded rate needs a 12-month plan; month to month it is $289 [11].
  • Intro offers that end. OrderlyMeds' $74 month is for new customers, then the standard rate applies [10]. Novo's $199 Wegovy price covers two fills [1].
  • Visit fees. Henry Meds charges $30 for an evaluation that leads to a prescription [15]. NovoCare needs a prescription from someone; a telehealth membership may cost $74 to $149 a month, as at Ro [16].
  • Refund limits. Henry Meds says medicine is final sale once shipped [15]. Read terms before prepaying.

FDA declared the semaglutide shortage over on Feb 21, 2025. Its leeway for 503A pharmacies to compound copies ended April 24, 2025, and for 503B outsourcing facilities on May 22, 2025 [17]. Pharmacies may still compound for an individual patient when the prescriber documents a significant difference, but outsourcing facilities may not make it from bulk ingredient [17]. In September 2026 FDA told a large compounder that semaglutide mixed with vitamin B12 (cyanocobalamin) was essentially a copy of an approved drug [18].

Compounded semaglutide is not FDA-approved, and FDA does not review it for safety, effectiveness or quality [30]. FDA had received 990 adverse event reports for it by May 31, 2026, and says semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate are different ingredients with no lawful basis for compounding [5]. Read compounded semaglutide and check any program in the FDA warning letter tracker.

Measuring compounded doses

FDA has reports of hospitalizations after people mismeasured compounded semaglutide or were prescribed doses above the label [5]. Units depend on the concentration on your pharmacy label; follow your prescriber and the pharmacy label and ask the pharmacist. FDA advises discarding multi-dose vials 28 days after first use and using a new sterile needle and syringe each time [5]. Severe stomach pain that will not go away or signs of an allergic reaction need prompt care; for an emergency, call 911.

Insurance and semaglutide

Coverage depends on the plan your employer or insurer chose, not the company's name, and on the reason for the prescription. Wegovy is approved for weight management and heart risk reduction [6]; Ozempic for type 2 diabetes [7]. The $25 offers work only for commercial plans that cover the drug [1]. Medicare's Bridge covers Wegovy, not Ozempic [8]. Step-by-step checks are in does insurance cover Wegovy and does insurance cover Ozempic.

Semaglutide or tirzepatide?

Brand semaglutide usually costs less at higher doses: $349 for Wegovy against $449 for Zepbound on time [1] [19]. In STEP 1, Wegovy 2.4 mg produced 14.9% average weight loss at 68 weeks [20]. In SURMOUNT-5, tirzepatide averaged 20.2% against 13.7% for semaglutide at 72 weeks [21]. Stopping matters for cost too: one year after people stopped semaglutide in the STEP 1 extension, they had regained about two-thirds of the weight they lost [22]. See tirzepatide cost and what happens when you stop semaglutide.

We may earn a commission if you sign up through some links on this page. It never changes a verdict. How we make money

See Found prices

Semaglutide programs online (clean or caution verdicts only)

  1. Found

    Clean
    Price
    Compounded plan $169 to $289 per 28 days; brand plan $99 to $149 plus drug [11]
    What you get
    Compounded or brand semaglutide with care
    FDA record
    No FDA warning letter found as of Oct 17, 2026
    BBB
    Not yet checked
    Note
    Labs excluded

    Visit Found

  2. bmiMD

    Clean
    Price
    As low as $119 a month [9]
    What you get
    Compounded semaglutide; microdose plans
    FDA record
    No FDA warning letter found as of Oct 17, 2026
    BBB
    Not yet checked
    Note
    Plan length behind the price not shown

    Visit bmiMD

  3. OrderlyMeds

    Use caution
    Price
    $149 a month; $74 first month [10]
    What you get
    Compounded semaglutide, same price at every dose
    BBB
    Not yet checked
    Note
    Pages now say compounded drugs are not FDA-approved

    Visit OrderlyMeds

  4. Eden

    Use caution
    Price
    $99 a month headline [3]
    What you get
    Compounded semaglutide and brand drugs
    FDA record
    Warning letter June 8, 2026; label branding fix not confirmed
    BBB
    Not yet checked
    Note
    Inclusions not stated

    Visit Eden

  5. Price
    Wegovy pen $199 to $399, pill $149 to $299, plus membership [16]
    What you get
    Brand semaglutide only
    FDA record
    No FDA warning letter found as of Oct 17, 2026
    BBB
    Not yet checked
    Note
    For people who want FDA-approved semaglutide

    Visit Ro (Ro Body Program)

Left off this list

Programs with an avoid verdict are not listed: Shed and Fridays for billing and refund complaint patterns at the BBB [23] [24], MedVi and TrimRx for BBB F ratings [25] [29], Mochi Health for state action involving its pharmacy partner [26], and Hims and Hers for the July 2026 FTC lawsuit [27].

Prefer in person? See semaglutide near you, or city pages like Houston and Chicago.

Questions people ask

How much is semaglutide without insurance?

From Novo Nordisk, Wegovy pens cost $349 a month, the Wegovy pill $149 to $299 and Ozempic $349 to $499 (NovoCare, checked Oct 17, 2026) [1] [2]. Compounded semaglutide lists at $99 to $297 a month in the online programs we track, and it is not FDA-approved [3] [4].

Does insurance cover semaglutide?

It depends on your plan, not the insurer's brand name. If a commercial plan covers Wegovy or Ozempic, Novo's offer can cut the cost to $25 a month [1] [2]. Call the number on your card, ask whether the drug is on the formulary for your diagnosis, and ask what prior authorization needs.

Does Blue Cross Blue Shield, Aetna or Cigna cover semaglutide?

Coverage depends on your employer's plan, not the carrier name. Two members of the same insurer can have different answers. Check your plan's drug list, ask about prior authorization and BMI rules, and if covered, use Novo's savings offer, which can bring the cost to $25 [1].

What is semaglutide the generic name for?

Semaglutide is the ingredient in Wegovy and Ozempic [6] [7]. No generic semaglutide is sold; compounded semaglutide is not a generic and is not FDA-approved [5].

Can you buy semaglutide over the counter?

No. Wegovy needs a prescription [1]. Vials sold as "research use only" are not legal medicine, and FDA says their quality is unknown and may be harmful [5].

How much does semaglutide cost per month with insurance?

As little as $25 a month for Wegovy or Ozempic when a commercial plan covers it, with Novo's savings capped at $100 a month [1] [2]. On Medicare, eligible people pay $50 a month for Wegovy under the GLP-1 Bridge [28].

How do I get off semaglutide without regaining weight?

Talk with your prescriber before stopping. In the STEP 1 extension, people regained about two-thirds of their lost weight in the year after stopping [22].

Why is semaglutide cheaper than tirzepatide?

Novo prices Wegovy pens at $349 for every standard dose [1], while Lilly's Zepbound rises to $449 on time or $699 late for the top doses [19]. Compounded semaglutide also lists lower than compounded tirzepatide in the programs we track.

Sources

30 cited
  1. Wegovy self-pay offer. Novo Nordisk (NovoCare Pharmacy), Oct 17, 2026.
  2. Ozempic at NovoCare Pharmacy. Novo Nordisk (NovoCare Pharmacy), Oct 17, 2026.
  3. Eden home page and prices. Eden, Oct 17, 2026.
  4. DirectMeds pricing. DirectMeds, Oct 17, 2026.
  5. FDA's concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss. US Food and Drug Administration, Oct 1, 2026.
  6. Wegovy (semaglutide) injection and tablets label. DailyMed, National Library of Medicine, Jun 2026.
  7. Ozempic (semaglutide) injection label. DailyMed, National Library of Medicine, May 2026.
  8. Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: information for pharmacies. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Oct 17, 2026.
  9. bmiMD home page and prices. bmiMD, Oct 17, 2026.
  10. OrderlyMeds pricing. OrderlyMeds LLC, Oct 17, 2026.
  11. Found offer terms. Found, Oct 17, 2026.
  12. FancyMeds home page and prices. FancyMeds, Oct 17, 2026.
  13. TrumpRx.gov home page. TrumpRx.gov (US government), Oct 17, 2026.
  14. Novo Nordisk announces reduction in US list price for Wegovy, Ozempic and Rybelsus. Novo Nordisk via PR Newswire, Feb 24, 2026.
  15. Henry Meds refund and return policy. Henry Meds, Oct 17, 2026.
  16. Ro weight loss pricing. Ro, Oct 17, 2026.
  17. FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize. US Food and Drug Administration, Apr 1, 2026.
  18. Warning letter: Empower Pharmacy. US Food and Drug Administration, Sep 18, 2026.
  19. Zepbound on LillyDirect: self-pay prices. Eli Lilly and Company (LillyDirect), Oct 17, 2026.
  20. Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1). New England Journal of Medicine (PubMed), Feb 10, 2021.
  21. Tirzepatide as compared with semaglutide for the treatment of obesity (SURMOUNT-5). New England Journal of Medicine (PubMed), May 11, 2025.
  22. Weight regain and cardiometabolic effects after withdrawal of semaglutide: STEP 1 trial extension. Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism (PubMed), May 19, 2022.
  23. Shed BBB profile. Better Business Bureau, Oct 17, 2026.
  24. Thrive Health Group (Fridays) BBB profile. Better Business Bureau, Oct 17, 2026.
  25. MedVi BBB profile. Better Business Bureau, Oct 17, 2026.
  26. Mochi Health weight loss drugs under scrutiny. NBC Bay Area, Oct 17, 2026.
  27. FTC, Utah and Los Angeles County sue Hims & Hers. Insurance Journal, Jul 30, 2026.
  28. Weight loss drugs coverage. Medicare.gov (CMS), Oct 17, 2026.
  29. TrimRx BBB profile. Better Business Bureau, Oct 17, 2026.
  30. Compounding and the FDA: questions and answers. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2025-09-16 (accessed 2026-10-17).

This page is general information, not medical advice. Talk with a licensed clinician about your own care.

See Found pricesWe may earn a commission